The Nikos Kazantzakis Files

http://www.historical-museum.gr/kazantzakis/en/index.html


I calmly chewed my food in the sun and felt a deep physical happiness as if I was floating on the cool, green waters of the sea.

I did not allow my mind to take possession of this carnal joy, to press it into its own moulds, and make thoughts of it. I let my whole body rejoice from head to foot, like an animal. Now and then, nevertheless, in ecstasy, I gazed about me and within me, at the miracle of this life: What is happening? I said to myself. How did it come about that the world is so perfectly adapted to our feet and hands and bellies? And once again I closed my eyes and was silent.

{ Nikos Kazantzakis }
from the novel ZORBA THE GREEK; Carl Wildman (trans.)

Tags:

About Klassy

How Klassy got her groove back.

Leave a Reply

