An Interview with Clayton Eshleman Woodland Pattern

http://www.woodlandpattern.org/gallery/clayton_eshleman02.shtml


Eshleman: — I would invite her into my room, ask her to sit next to me on the bed, and rather than trying to seduce her, I would say, “Help me with Neruda.”

Brammer: [Laughing.]

Eshleman: And she did. [Laughing.] I would say, “What does this word mean?” And, “What does that word mean?” And she would say, “Hmm…”

(Of course this is not the entire point of the interview. I just enjoyed reading Eshleman’s stories in this fascinating exchange of ideas. I am currently reading this book, and I am quite smitten by his translations. I find myself more curious in the translator than in Cesar Vallejo himself. I wonder if he could bring out that kind of beauty in translating Borges too.)

Tags:

About Klassy

How Klassy got her groove back.

Leave a Reply

